The Hotel Engiadina can pride itself of a history of over 138 years of hospitality.
The house was built by the Swiss architect Nicolaus Hartmann between the years 1874 and 1876 as an alpine hotel by the name of “Hotel Concordia”. Owing to the discovery at the end of the 19th Century of the Upper Engadine as one of the leading destinations for winter sports and recuperation in the world, an increasingly international mix of guests soon began to frequent the hotel.
Throughout the years the Hotel Engiadina was determined to adapt to the changing times and keep up with the expectations of its guests without loosing the unique character of the house.The renovation of all rooms and bathrooms in 2011 was undertaken in this spirit. The hotel provides spacious guest lounges. The drawing room with its large open fireplace, the conservatory or the sun terrace provided the ideal space for individual retreat.
The culinary whish of the guests are provided for in the two in-house restaurants. While the Restaurant Engiadina serves original re-interpretations of classic local dishes with a slight Mediterranean influence, the Restaurant Chamanna offers specialties of the Grisons as well as traditional barbeque dishes. Both restaurants have a well assorted wine list, featuring wines from selected wineries predominantly form Switzerland and Italy.
The ski slopes of Zuoz stretch across the mountains right behind the hotel and can be reached within only 2 minutes by foot. The village of Zuoz is considered to be on of the most well-preserved villages in Switzerland. The location of the hotel on the edge of the historic village centre makes it an ideal starting point to discover the numerous architectural jewels of the area.
Train station: 2 minutes. Ski slopes: 2 minutes. Banks, shops and galleries: 2 minutes. Lyceum Alpinum: 4 minutes. Golf course Zuoz: 5 minutes
Entrance to the National Park: 5 minutes. Golf course Samedan: 8 Minutes, Airport Samedan: 8 minutes. St. Moritz, ski lifts: 12 minutes.